A Week With My Afro

After a three week protective style, I was ready to have some fun with my fro out and about. So this week, I decided to wear my hair in a new style every day before I put a new protective style in. Needless to say, I’ve had several interesting conversations revolving around hair, now that my Afro is out slaying.

So here’s what I did to prep my hair for this week.

I washed, conditioned, and banded my hair on Sunday. Banding is a method used to stretch the hair. So I divided my hair in five sections. In each section I applied shea butter, jojoba oil, and sweet almond oil. Then I used hair ties and tied them for the length of my hair. I slept with my hair banded. I ended up looking like this:

Banding My Hair

Monday

On this day I decided to do three flat twists in the side going from left to right. Then I left the rest of my hair out. I secured my flat twists with bobby pins, picked out my hair and was done! This was a super quick and easy style.


When I got to work, the receptionist (who is a white girl) looked at me in slight confusion. Finally she said, “New hair style?” I was like, “Yep.” Then she proceeds to tell me that she really liked it, and it looked good. Of course!

Tuesday

On this day I decided to keep in my flat twists and create a funky twist on the fro-hawk. So all I did here was spray some leave in conditioner to slightly dampen my hair and make it easy to brush. Then I wet my brush and brushed my hair to the same side of my twists. After that I applied gel, brushed to the side some more, and secured with bobby pins. This style took about ten minutes, if that.


Tuesday’s conversation was definitely interesting. There was this white woman who complimented me on my hair. She called me fabulous. She then proceeded to tell me how she put a relaxer in one of her friend’s hair one time when they were younger, and it burned her hands. She said she didn’t understand how people put it in their hair. She, a white woman, said she’s glad that more people are going natural now, and that she keeps trying to convince her friend. She told me that her friend calls it the creamy crack, and she’s afraid her hair won’t look good natural because it’s very tightly coiled and thick. She, this white woman, said that she keeps telling her friend that they have products now for her natural hair. Unfortunately her friend just won’t do it. It goes to show that a lot of the times we as black women project our insecurities on to white people and have convinced ourselves that they hate our natural hair. Yet there I was, talking to a white woman about how she keeps trying to get her friend to embrace her natural hair. Maybe back in the day they were shaming it. But today, it seems like we are the ones shaming our natural hair the most.

Wednesday

I kept it simple with a puff. At one year post big chop I’m finally able to accomplish it! This was a simple style. Spray the leave in, wet brush, apply gel, and brush up. I used a goody band and tied twice. Of course I had to do my baby hairs!


The conversation I had today was just… sad. It was with a black woman. I’m not even going to go into detail. It’s just unfortunate that people find any reason to not wear their real hair. Her mindset is why nappy is not a word I embrace. It’s never been a positive word. I just feel like people are in denial, and it’s very unfortunate. Admitting that you don’t like a part of yourself is hard. Who wants to face that admission? Who wants to really question and answer why everyday they would rather look like something they are not? Who really wants to admit an insecurity? Who wants to humble themselves that much?  We say that white people feel uncomfortable when we are natural. We say that they don’t like our hair. But honestly black people hate black hair more than we say whites do.

Thursday

Today I did a side part, side swoop type of style. I sprayed the leave in to dampen my hair and did a diagonal part. Then I took gel and applied it and brushed my hair back and pinned on one side of the part. Then I did the same on the other side. It kind of had a hair band effect. The back was just picked out. And of course….. baby hairs on fleek.


So I guess by day four people have decided to stop bringing up hair to me. It’s really not a big deal, and in all honesty, it shouldn’t be. The fact that it is, that we even need to feel inspired to wear our natural hair, that there are adult black women who don’t even know what their hair looks and feels like the way god made it, says a lot about the state that we are in. But, to each her own I guess.

Friday!

So glad Friday is finally here! This will be my last day doing a style before I put it back into a protective style. I ended up keeping the same side part from Thursday and doing a flat twist on each side. I secured them with bobby pins. And then I tied the rest of my hair into a puff with a goody band. Of course, I sprayed with leave in to dampen, added a little water to dampen some more, and combed the area I was twisting. I used gel to make it a little smoother. And I brushed up the back and applied gel before I tied it in the puff. Then I did my baby hairs and was done. Short and easy.

I thought all the interesting things revolving around my hair were done for the week, but I was wrong. As I’m sitting in my office my co worker comes in to get me to log something. As I’m doing that I felt hands in my hair. I didn’t say anything. I don’t mind when black women touch my hair. After she was playing in it for a few seconds she finally asked if I minded, and I told her no. It was funny because Solange’s “Don’t Touch My Hair” was playing out loud!  So, of course we had a dialogue about that and what we  thought the song meant. Honestly, I didn’t mind her touching my hair, even without asking first, because this is a black woman with a relaxer and who wears silky weaves. She’s previously expressed to me that she was curious about how her hair would be and look natural.  If my hair can just help peek her curiosity even more, draw her interest in natural hair more, and perhaps bring her closer to embracing her natural hair, then touch away sista.

So, this has been my week with my afro.  I hope ya’ll enjoyed the styles and my observations throughout the week. Let me know which style is your favorite down in the comments.

11 responses to “A Week With My Afro

  1. I’m taking my hair out in a few days and I cant wait to try all these styles; my fave of course being the easiest, which the high puff! They look good on you too.

    Thanks for sharing xx

    Like

    • Aww thanks! When you first chop it it may be too short for styles. But that’s when you just rock the Afro! I still rock a simple fro with no style. Keep is classic! You can do it! And you can always just play around until you find easy cute styles you like.

      Liked by 1 person

      • For sure. When I did my first big chop, while I was transitioning I wanted my hair to turn out a certain way. And then I told myself it doesn’t matter what my hair looks like as long as it is natural. And I had to learn to just accept my hair however it came out and love it. Try to just accept how you were born to be and it will help with not being disappointed.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

