Korryn Gaines

Living close to Baltimore, I saw what happened to Korryn Gaines on the news the day it happened.  There was a whole day between the time I saw it on the news and it ended up on social media, the blogs, and the angry internet rants.  A part of me feels obligated to write something about her, but the other part of me just doesn’t have anything to say that I haven’t already said before.  There is not enough words, or the proper words, in this English language, foreign to our natural selves, that I can say to communicate how I feel about her death, the shooting of a 5 year old kid, and the state of black people in America.  Besides the video of her son sharing his experience, I didn’t watch any of the videos.  I don’t want to see anything that tries to justify her murder.  I don’t want to take part in discussing her character flaws or mental health status.  All I want to do is honor a lost sista.

She was a mother

A daughter

A sister

A friend

A teacher

She was a fighter

A lover

A protector

A nurturer

She was a black woman

She was a Queen

Rest In Peace Sista Korryn Gaines

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

