My 2nd Big Chop

I’ve been on my natural hair journey for six years.  In 2010 I got my first big chop, and I was so excited to be natural.  I enjoyed every phase of my journey.  I thought I was beautiful, and you couldn’t tell me nothing about my twa (teeny weeny afro).  After two years, I loc’d my hair.  I had locs for about three years, and again, I loved every phase of that journey.  My hair had grown to a little over shoulder length, they looked amazing and I was able to do so many different styles.  One day after a night of crying, I woke up, took a shower, and decided I didn’t want my hair anymore.  I had bleached and colored it red, and felt like I just wanted to go back to my natural hair without the color.  When I got out the shower, I cut my hair, got dressed, and went to work and class.

I wish I could say that this has been easy and the best thing ever.  I’d be lying though.  This second time around, I’ve struggled a lot with my twa.  I have had difficulties with accepting the shortness of my hair.  Some days, I wish I had my long locs again.   It’s been about six months since I’ve cut my hair.  I’m just now getting to the point where I am having fun with it and embracing it, and just last week I wasn’t there haha.

Going natural, specifically dealing with a twa, teaches us a lot about ourselves.  It makes us reexamine what beauty means, and it even provides an opportunity for creativity.  Learning how to love and appreciate ourselves in all of our forms is vital.  I’m glad that through this natural hair journey, I have began a self love journey.

One response to “My 2nd Big Chop

Leave a Reply

